It looks like Honestly Ombre isn’t the only place celebrating vegan month!

Plant based brand Fry’s have just announced the launch of their new product range featuring 12 brand new products, and have timed it to celebrate Vegan month!

The new range is available to buy from Morrisons, Wholefoods, Ocado, Holland & Barrett and Iceland, and includes a new range of vegan pies, beef and chicken strips, pasties, sausage rolls, battered prawns and Louisiana tenders!!

They all look delicious! Fry’s is a staple in my freezer, for those quick and easy meals – I can’t recommend their products enough.

Fry’s is a family run plant based company. All their products are vegan and sold all around the world, making it easier to make compassionate and ethical food choices for everyone.

You can get more information here from Plant Based News.

Tattoos are maybe something that you wouldn’t think to consider when following a vegan lifestyle, but surprise! There are many things to look out for when deciding to get inked, and it isn’t just the design.

Firstly, the ink itself.

The main components of tattoo ink tend to come from plants or metal, which is good news for tattoo lovers. However as with many products and industries, it’s never that simple. Black ink is often referred to as ‘bone black’, because it can contain charcoal derived from charred animal bones. Which is really just a lovely thought. Charred animal bones in your skin forever? Nah thanks. I’m good.

Unfortunately it doesn’t stop there, sometimes tattoo ink can also contain gelatin (hopefully we all know what gelatin is, but to recap it’s a jelly type product made from the boiled up bones, skin, tissue and ligaments from animals – and nope it isn’t just a byproduct of the meat industry, animals are killed directly to make gelatin, so it’s best avoided), and also shellac (from the lac bug).

In addition to this, the pigment within the ink is suspended in a carrier, and this ‘suspension’ keeps the ink mixed evenly to help with application. The carrier solution contains a variety of products such as ethyl alcohol, purified water, propylene glycol and glycerine etc. Glycerine typically comes from animals, specifically animal fat, so this is also something to avoid if you’re looking for a vegan tattoo (or you just don’t want to be gross forever).

Ok, enough with the bad news.

This doesn’t mean you have to remain vegan and ink-less forever, there are a lot of vegan inks now on the market! www.vegantattoostudios.com is a great resource for anyone considering a tattoo and wants to ensure it is ethical and animal free! And some vegan ink brands include: Eternal, StarBrite, SkinCandy, and Stable Color.

So once you’ve got the ink sorted, there are other things to look out for when planning your ink is the process itself that also have ethical implications. For example:

  • Vaseline: This brand tests their products on animals and the end product can sometimes contain bone char
  • Shaving: The moisterising strip on most razors contains glycerin – oh and they’re normally always tested on animals
  • Cleaning: Soap is normally used to clean the area – again, this might be from a brand that tests on animals or contain glycerin
  • Transfer: When transferring the design onto your skin, lanolin is quite often in the transfer paper which is derived from sheep wool
  • Furniture: It’s likely a leather couch will be used in the studio during the inking process
  • Gloves: Latex can often contain animal products
  • Aftercare: Many lotions and products used during the healing process can contain things like beeswax and fish oils

Whoa. I know.

But the good news is there are alternatives for all of these things! You can talk through these issues with your artist first and either many alternate arrangements, take along your own products or go for a completely vegan studio!

It just takes that little bit extra planning and consideration, but ensures you have an ethical statement on your body for the rest of your life.

Big news this month that Bailey’s have finally released an Almond Milk version of their deliciously festive drink which will be suitable for vegans and anyone who doesn’t consume dairy!

There were rumors of this product launching a few years ago, but now is have finally been confirmed as hitting our shelves this month, and in perfect time for Autumn and Christmas.

The company have spent the last few months spent reformulating the recipe to remove the beeswax from the dairy-free liqueur option, and they have relaunched the vegan version as Bailey’s Almande Almondmilk Liqueur. It’s made from almond milk, almond essence, cane sugar, purified water and real vanilla.

It is now available in the UK in Whole Foods, with plans to expand into other supermarkets by the end of the year.

Just think of all the Christmas cocktail possibilities now!! Vegan Irish coffee, almond milk White Russians, grown up hot chocolate, Pina Coladas and even non-dairy eggnog!

The vegan food industry is such an exciting movement to be part of and more and more brands are offering vegan alternatives and options – the world is changing guys! And it’s never been easier to be vegan!